Bhaktavatsalam Polytechnic College
(A unit of Bhaktavatsalam Educational Trust)

பக்தவத்சலம் தொழில்நுட்பக் கல்லூரி
(பக்தவத்சலம் கல்வி அறக்கட்டளையின் ஒரு அங்கம்)


The Institution which was inaugurated on 27th July,1958 by Thiru C.Subramaniam, the then Education Minister of Tamil Nadu Government under the presidentship of Thiru. K. Kamaraj, the then Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu was aptly named after Thiru. M. Bhaktavatsalam, former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu as a token of his selfless service to our country and Tamil Nadu in particular.

The Bhaktavatsalam Educational Trust with Thiru.O.V.Alagesan, a great patriot and an ardent follower of Gandhian Ideals as its Founder President established the Bhaktavatsalam Polytechnic, now rechristined as Bhaktavatsalam Polytechnic College at Kanchipuram in the year 1958 to fulfil the long-felt desire of the public to have a technical education in Kanchipuram district.

The Polytechnic College is located on a 30 hectares of land, 70 KM. from Chennai on the Chennai-Bangalore National Highway no.4. The intake of the polytechnic at the start was 120. The intake increased to 280 at present due to the addition of other branches. Apart from this, a strength of 180 is additionally increased in Self Supporting Scheme from the year 2006-2007 onwards.

Thiru A. Vamanan, B.E.(Mech), B.E.(Elect) is the present president. The other educational institutions run by the Bhaktavatsalam Educational Trust are:

1. Bhaktavatsalam Shastiapdapoorthi High School,Athur, Kanchipuram District (1958).
2. Sarojini Varadappan Girls Higher Secondary School, Poonamallie, Thiruvallur District (1980).
3. Brindavan Public School, Coonoor, the Nilgiris District (1976).
4. Brindavan Public School, Athur, Kanchipuram District (1975) extension at Sarayu Chengalpattu (2003).
5. Vedha Padasalai, Athur, Kanchipuram District (1976).
6. Nagappa Mudaliar Agama Padasalai, Ozhalur, Kanchipuram District (1978).
7. Thevara Padasalai, Thirukkalukkundram, Kanchipuram District.
8. Brindavan Public School, Kodaikkanal (1983).
9. Pattammal Alagesan College of Arts & Science,Athur.(2001).
10. Kanchi College of Education, Kanchipuram (2007).